-OSIBAnews Network Editorial.

The maiden edition of the Edo State International Film Festival (ESIFF’22) has finally come and gone, leaving behind sweet memories of a highly funded ceremony. It was no doubt, impressive but not without some pardonable hitches though. Highlights of the festival included the introduction of cash prizes for certain categories of the Awards, which was tagged “The Governor’s Award” to the tune of Ten Thousand Dollars!

Among the guests in attendance were Nollywood Veteran Actor and Filmmaker, Eliel Otote A, (Mr. Deputy of The Johnsons) and Efe Omorodion who are both the Founders of the longest running film festival in the State: The Benin City Film Festival (BCFF) which fifth edition comes up on November 24 to 27 in Benin City. In an interview, they expressed delight for the additional film festival in the state, saying that it was their wish during BCFF’s inauguration five years ago that Benin City Film Festival would serve as a springboard for more film festivals in Edo State.

As Eliel Otote A said:

“The more the merrier. It’s not a competition as some obviously see it. To me and my partner, it’s rather complementary‚Ķ”

Other dignitaries at ESIFF maiden event were Desmond Elliot, Billy Kings, Yvonne Jegede, Henry Legemah, Mercy Aigbe, Charles Inojie, Johnbull Eghianruwa, Charles Novia, Professor Emasealu, Eunice Omoregie, Professor Osakue, Dr. Charles, Etinosa Idemudia, Victor Okhai, Cele O. Cele, Cleopatra Starrets, Audrey Silinyana etc.

While we look forward to a follow up edition of ESIFF, OSIBAnews wishes to congratulate all Awardees in the LEGENDS AWARD category as follows:

Charles Inojie.
Kabat. Egbon
Lancelot Imasuen
Iyen Agbonifo Omoruyi
Peddie Okao
Victor Okhai
Pedro Obaseki

And of course, the Awardees for the HEARTBEAT OF OUR TIME category as follows:

Etinosa Idemudia
Adesuwa Etomi
Lilian Afegbai
Adesuwa Linda Osifo
Yvonne Jegede
Mercy Aigbe
Billy Kings
Johnbull Eghianruwa
Andrew Osawaru
Degbueyi Oviahon
Wendy Uwadiae
Nosa Obaseki
Eunice Omoregie
Henry Legemah
Best Ogunmu
Robert Peters
Ossa Earliece
Amen Imasuen
Austen Odigie
Shaggy Eromosele
Davidson Izegaegbe

In the category of INVESTORS in productions as follows:

Mr Isibor of Deepend Studios
Trevor of Kada Cinema
Mary Njoku of Rok Studios
Charles Uwagboe
Victor Aghahowa Sanchez

And others who collected awards as some of the popular comedians in the state:

MC Edopikin
MC Carrot
MC Lasisi
MC Porcupine

Among the movies on the highlight were
TARE short film and the indigenous language film:
ONAIWU, a feature film that won the Governor”s Award For Overall Feature.

By osibanews

Eliel Otote A is an Actor and Filmmaker, with a bias for journalism. He was a freelance feature writer with the Nigerian Observer in the 80's in Benin City, he also presented programmes on both radio and television. Eliel is the Editor and Publisher of OSIBAnews Network Magazine, of which this blog is an affiliate.

3 thoughts on “ESIFF’22: THE HIGHLIGHTS.”
  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *